A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price: ARC Review

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price: ARC Review

38595652
A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Synopsis:

Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

 

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

An extraordinary debut set in an alternate San Francisco and inspired by The Iliad…

Valerie Simons knows the gangs are dangerous—her little brother was shot and killed by the Boars two years ago.

Still, nothing will sway Valerie from wanting to join the elite and beautiful Herons and find her brother’s killer. It doesn’t hurt that her best friend Matthew is slated to become a Heron leader—and she’d follow him to the ends of the earth.

Then Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags when their volatile, provocative, and beyond charismatic leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie races to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

But no one truly wins the Wars.


Expected Publication:
November 5th, 2019.

My Rating: 1d232-il_794xn.1430513132_kmuv 1d232-il_794xn.1430513132_kmuv 1d232-il_794xn.1430513132_kmuv 1d232-il_794xn.1430513132_kmuv 1d232-il_794xn.1430513132_kmuv


My Favourite Quote: 

Jax takes a spot next to an aisle. Behind him, an elderly couple huddles together. There’s a group of teens hanging out on the steps in front of the columns. The girls squeal in ripped skinny jeans and oversized sweatshirts.
I hate them. I wish I was them.

Links: Goodreads, Amazon. 


My Review

Received an ARC from publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Can I just say, what a book. 

When I read the synopsis, I’m so glad I grabbed onto the oh-shit handle because I was in for a ride. I think the largest part of this book that I hadn’t expected to like so very much was the subtle undercurrent of mental health issues that was portrayed so beautifully that it can’t go unnoticed. I’ve read so many books with death, grit and pain, but not everyone addresses the pain that the protagonist, or anyone really, goes through and the commonly occurring maladaptive behaviour that follows it. But in this book, everyone is showed to be suffering. The hues of their pain like the canned sprays they use. Unique, but unmissable.

The plot in itself is as the synopsis suggests, one of revenge. But it’s also one of love, betrayal, loyalty, pain and the biggest war of the characters’ life. The story picks up in San Francisco and from the word go, the protagonists are fighting for a cause bigger than themselves; scarier than something kids their age should be handling or even seeing. The rules bind the groups and are also broken as often as possible, death and pain its result. Trust is a whisper thin feather in the air that you either take the chance and grab or it escapes you forever. And for Valerie Simons, betrayal and love are both just around the corner, except she doesn’t know which turn holds what.

Jax was a strangely beautiful character. Especially because he was often like an unpredictable fuse, you don’t know when it’ll blow and when it’ll hold. But he was also the face of the Stags, the creator; his mule-headedness bringing them to where they were. His strategy, aim and goal, shaping them into something that the Boars and Herons never could be. Jax was equal parts scary and kind. I’m always wary and excited to see him in a scene, there isn’t a moment where I could predict what he does. I think he’ll lash out and he smoothes his fingers over the pain, softening the rough edges; I think he’ll be fine and he blows. But, his team respects him and dare not cross him.
The secondary characters were as beautifully drawn as the primary. They hurt too, they smile too, they soothe too, they lash too. Val is never alone with all of them around her; but neither is she immediately accepted as is to be expected from a team that has been a family for a long time, where blood and betrayal is their everyday expectation before dinner.

The events of the book are well streamed into perfectly times lulls and storms. The lulls help us feel all that the protagonist does; see, understand and live her surroundings. While the storms catch us and never lets us go.

I was prepared for a cliff-hanger and in many ways it was and wasn’t one. However, right now, all I care about is when I can find out about the next book.

Five stars, I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a fast-paced, gritty book with a well handed heavy theme of war, love, loss and a search for redemption. Congratulations Shannon Price. I’m going to stalk you everywhere.

17 thoughts on “A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price: ARC Review

  1. Ahana, our arc TBRs seem to be the same and I am living for it lmao! I have this one as well but haven’t read it yet, so I skimmed your review – sorry! – so your opinions don’t subconsiously become mine lol. Glad you enjoyed the book, though! Makes me excited.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I THINK SO TOO!! I see your ARC TBRs and think OMG I have that or OMG I’ve requested that too!! I understand♥️♥️ you never have to apologise.

      Also I’m totally crushing on your creative content playlist. I can’t wait to hear it! I’ve always wanted to do one! Happy reading Kal!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😘😘😘 *high five* I’m just going to find you on GR and stalk you. It’s easier that way ‘cos of our shared genre preferences. That way I won’t have to search on my own for hours anymore. Hehehehe *naughty chipmunk face *

        I will!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “Trust is a whisper thin feather in the air that you either take the chance and grab or it escapes you forever.” 😍😍
    GOD I LOVEEEEDDD THE WAY YOU EXPRESSED YOUR FEELINGS FOR THIS ONE, Ahana! LOVE LOVE LOOVEEEEEEEE!! 😍😍😍😍😍 Awesome review! And might I add – WHAT A GORGEOUS FUCKING COVERRR!!! ❤️❤️😍😍 I didnt know about this book until now and I am sooo grateful that I read your awesome review of it because I AM SOO GONNA ADD IT TO MY TBR NOWWW! ❤️😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG RAIN🥺🥺😭😭😭🥺🥺🥺😭😭😭♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️ Thank you so much. I always love your comments. The caps makes my heart bloom!

      Oooh! I hope you love it! OMG that cover!! When you read the book it’ll make more of a impact and I swear I was staring at it with a new light after that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s